Toys

I ordered some toys. One was an HP Scanjet 4600. $29.00 @ Staples.  I thought it would be good for making photocopies but it turns out to be a really nice scanner. Scans of colour and greyscale images came out well with no adjustments using the default settings. I haven’t tried the OCR program but the samples it provides show it to be versatile and adequate for home use. The one problem I had is that the buttons on the scanner for scanning, printing, etc didn’t know what program to bring up when pressed. A fix for XP SP2 from HP’s website quickly fixed that. I’m very pleased with this low-cost scanner that replaces the ancient device I was using.

Also ordered (not from Staples) and still waiting for delivery is a 250GB USB 2 hard drive that I plan to use for backups and media storage. UPS says that should be here Tues.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

